Meet Our Parent Therapists – Victoria and Brad

About Us:

Brad and I have been married for over 13 years. We have two children Kai age 10 and Mya age 6. Brad and I both grew up in the area, Brad in Belleville and I grew up in Stirling. 

We are an active family who love to get outside and play.  In the winter we sleigh ride, skate, play hockey and ski. We love to rollerblade, bike and explore in the warmer months.  In the summer we love to be on the water and visiting the cottage. We like to go boating, swimming, fishing, kayaking, paddle boarding and taking in the lake.  We have game nights, and movie nights regularly.  

We are health oriented, and make sure to teach our children the importance of eating a balanced diet, getting exercise and getting enough sleep to keep our bodies healthy.

We have a four-year-old yellow lab named Milo who is kind and very well behaved.  We also have a five-year-old cat named Karma, who is feisty and affectionate.  

We chose to become Host Parents because we both share a love for children and would like to make a difference in children’s lives. We have a large support system of friends and family close in the area.

Brad manages a mechanical company through the week in the Belleville area, while I am the primary Host Parent and work part time as a Registered Massage therapist.

Qualifications:

Victoria

Education:

  • Diploma in Massage Therapy and Registered with the CMTO

Training:

  • CPR and First Aid Training (completing 03/13/20)
  • Therapeutic Crisis Intervention
  • Foster Parent College Courses recommended by Applewood/QCH
  • Safe talk

Brad

Education:

  • Plumbing Apprenticeship completed in 2006
  • Licensed Plumber/Pipe fitter

Training:

  • CPR and First Aid Training
  • Therapeutic Crisis Intervention
  • Foster Parent College Courses recommended by Applewood/ QCH
  • Mechanical Supervisor certification
  • Safe talk

Pets

Milo- yellow lab great with children and adults.

Karma-5-year-old cat

Description of Home

Current Placements / Number of Beds Approved: 1

Our house is located in the Foxboro area, 10min north of the 401.  Our home is only 2 years old, on over an acre of property and backs into mature trees, and forest.  We have mother nature at our backdoor.

Our home has 4 bedrooms, 2 bathrooms with open concept living room, kitchen dining area and exercise room.  We have Brad’s father living in the in-law suite in the basement. Our road is quiet and allows for walking and biking.  We also have a cottage 30min away located on a beautiful clean lake.

Management Style

We will operate a program that is family oriented and treatment focused. Our program includes teaching children life skills, respect, responsibility and ethics. We use natural consequences as a learning tool. Our program is tailored to each residents’ individual needs.

Our Interests

We enjoy any outdoor activities. We love to be outside, and enjoying the nature around us.  Once the warmer weather hits we love to enjoy our cottage. We have an amazing spot on the lake with great boating, fishing and swimming.  

We also have a large extended family close by, where we regularly get together for dinners and holidays. Biking has become a great pastime activity for us.  

In the winter months Brad and Kai have ski passes at the local ski hill.  We also try to go ice skating once a week in the colder months. If the weather is just right, we have our own skating trails and rink in the trees behind our house.  We are fortunate enough to have an amazing sleigh riding hill minutes from our house.

We enjoy playing cards and board games and break out the family charades on occasion.